1

Logged in and got a notification that there was a suggested edit on my post. Reviewed it, approved it, and then got an error:

You need at least 2k reputation to review Suggested Edits.

It appears my approval took effect. Shouldn't have gotten the error.

Update: Here is a video of the bug and process.

2
  • This should not happen (approving) because of your too low reputation. If so: Please link to the post. Thanks.
    – kaiser
    Oct 12, 2012 at 15:46
  • @kaiser: Added a link to the post Oct 12, 2012 at 17:04

2 Answers 2

5

With the new just-out-of-beta review system, after reviewing a post, you are immediately presented with a new post to review.

The Suggested Edits review queue requires minimum 2k reputation to review in general, but you're always allowed to review your own posts, regardless of reputation. In this case, your suggested edit approval was successfully submitted, but you didn't have enough reputation to continue reviewing.

You're right though; the You need at least 2k reputation to review Suggested Edits message is confusing here. To handle cases like this, we have changed this message to

Thank you for your review. You need at least 2k reputation to continue reviewing Suggested Edits.

1
  • OK, that makes sense. Thanks! Oct 15, 2012 at 20:03
0

As from your link: that's no bug. That's the "community user"-bot. This little friend is a pretty smart guy who knows in some cases if an edit is valid and takes work from the community.

8
  • Wrong answer. It shows Community because the change was made by someone not logged in. I've added a video showing the process and the error. Oct 13, 2012 at 2:46
  • Ehm. Ok. You know that I'm just a user and not someone from the SE/SO stuff, right? I just know that this has been otherwise before. You should post that to general SE/SO meta.
    – kaiser
    Oct 13, 2012 at 3:16
  • 1
    @kaiser No need to post it to MSO. This is getting seen here as well.
    – Adam Lear StaffMod
    Oct 13, 2012 at 15:51
  • @AnnaLear Then maybe you want to add an answer yourself to post feedback or updates? Sometimes it feels like standing alone in the woods if no one from the SE/SO stuff answers.
    – kaiser
    Oct 13, 2012 at 16:02
  • @AnnaLear Since you have 101 rep on here you could easily reproduce this bug and see if it is valid. Just follow the steps in the video. Oct 15, 2012 at 3:55
  • @JimMcKeeth I can't. I'm a moderator, so all my edits just go through regardless of reputation.
    – Adam Lear StaffMod
    Oct 15, 2012 at 3:56
  • 1
    @AnnaLear Make a test account?
    – kaiser
    Oct 15, 2012 at 3:57
  • 1
    @kaiser Sorry, there's lots of sites and a few of us. :) We do see bugs across the network even if we don't respond to all of them right away. I'll be looking at this again on Monday (yes, possibly using a test account) and pointing it out to the devs. Either way, this is getting seen and is getting attention.
    – Adam Lear StaffMod
    Oct 15, 2012 at 3:59

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .